[Skip to Content]

ICRAR’s research students will be the future astronomers, engineers and data scientists working around the globe in a variety of fields.

We have a strong commitment to providing the best research training and an environment in which our talented students will thrive.

Ms Gayatri Aniruddha

Student - PhD

E: gayatri.aniruddha@icrar.org

P: +61 0420452371

Mr Wayne Arcus

Student - PhD

E: wayne.arcus@icrar.org

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr 16 Armstrong

Student - PhD

E: benjamin.armstrong@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1117

Mr Rene Baelemans

Student - PhD

E: rene.baelemans@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Thesis Title: Co-Design of wideband polarization-agile phased-array antennas and low-noise amplifiers for the next generation low-frequency square kilometre array (SKA) radio telescope

Mr Ryan Bunney

Student - PhD

E: ryan.bunney@icrar.org

2018 Westpac Future Leaders Scholar

Mr Jagdish Chawla

Student - Masters

E: jagdish.chawla@icrar.org

P: 0421376384

Mr Kariuki Chege

Student - PhD

E: kariuki.chege@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Mr Jaiden Cook

Student - PhD

E: jaiden.cook@icrar.org

I am a Curtin Astrophysics PhD student working with A/Prof Cathryn Trott and Dr Jack Line. My PhD project will see me working with advanced statistical techniques such as the bispectrum and kernel density estimators, in order to separate out out foreground galaxies from the cosmological hydrogen signal.

I also enjoy long walks on the beach, and have an affinity for precariously attaching myself to boulders.

Mr Jordan D’Silva

Student - PhD

E: jordan.d'silva@icrar.org

PhD Student working on high redshift galaxies observed by the James Webb Space Telescope.

Mr Ajay Dev

Student - PhD

E: ajay.dev@icrar.org

P: +61 432 440450

Mr Garvit Grover

Student - PhD

E: garvit.grover@icrar.org

P: +61431517711

Searching for slow rotating and intermittent pulsars at Curtin Insitute of Radio Astronomy

Mr Joe Grundy

Student - PhD

E: joe.grundy@icrar.org

P: 0448952800

Hi, I am a PhD student at CIRA/CSIRO studying star-formation properties in nearby star-forming galaxies. I am currently a part of the WALLABY team working on the resolved radio continuum and infrared-radio correlation properties of the Eridanus supergroup to see whether we can observe the effects of the group environment.

My future work will involve comparing star forming galaxies which exhibit low frequency turnovers (primarily due to free-free absorption) to those that don’t and seeing how their star-formation properties differ.

Mr Brendan Hennessy

Student - PhD

E: brendan.hennessy@icrar.org

Degree/Thesis Title: Surveillance of Space with Passive Radar using the Murchison Widefield Array

Mr Torrance Hodgson

Student - PhD

E: torrance.hodgson@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 7017

Mr Esteban Jimenez

Student - PhD

E: esteban.jimenez@icrar.org

P: 0426514822

Dr Ian Kemp

Student - PhD

E: ian.kemp@icrar.org

P: 0404 406491

Ms Jie Li

Student - PhD

E: jie.li@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3776

Mr Juno Li

Student - PhD

E: juno.li@icrar.org

P: 0405306898

Mr Xuanyi Lyu

Student - Masters

E: xuanyi.lyu@icrar.org

P: 0435 900 276

Mr Ayden McCann

Student - Masters

E: ayden.mccann@icrar.org

Currently conducting research with the Astrophotonics group at ICRAR-UWA under the supervision of Dr Shane Walsh, Dr David Gozzard and Dr Sascha Schediwy on the electronics and software development of the Western Australian Optical Ground Station (WAOGS).

Mr Bach Nguyen

Student - PhD

E: bach.nguyen@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Thesis Title:

Mr Tyrone O'Doherty

Student - PhD and Forrest Scholar

E: tyrone.odoherty@icrar.org

Mr Benjamin Quici

Student - PhD

E: benjamin.quici@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Degree/Thesis Title: Constraining the dying phase of Radio galaxies with the GLEAM-X radio survey.

Mr Andrei Ristea

Student - PhD

E: andrei.ristea@icrar.org

I completed my Master in Physics and Astronomy at Durham University in 2020. My thesis was focused on studying the kinematics and dark matter content of galaxies at high (1.6

Mr Mawson Sammons

Student - PhD

E: mawson.sammons@icrar.org

P: 0488996488

CRAFT – Exploring the lensing of cosmological transients on nanosecond timescales.

Ms Manasvee Saraf

Student - PhD

E: manasvee.saraf@icrar.org

P: 0423205255

Thesis Title: Galaxy Evolution in Norma Cluster

Mr Keegan Smith

Student - Masters

E: keegan.smith@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Thesis Title: Understanding Pulsar Emission Through a Large Scale Database

Mr Hongquan Su

Student - PhD

E: hongquan.su@icrar.org

Thesis Title: Mapping the Galaxy in 3D using observations of HII region absorption with the MWA

Mr Nick Swainston

Student - PhD

E: Nicholas.swainston@icrar.org

Degree/Thesis Title: Finding pulsars with a next-generation low-frequency radio telescope

Ms Jessica Thorne

Student - PhD

E: Jessica.thorne@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1684

Dissertation Title: Probing the co-evolution of galaxies and their environment over the last 8 billion years

Mr Matthew Wilkinson

Student - PhD

E: matthew.wilkinson@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1127

I am currently working Claudia Lagos and Aaron Ludlow on galaxy morphology in EAGLE in preparation for EAGLE-XL.

Mr Callan Wood

Student - PhD

E: callan.wood@icrar.org

I am currently a PhD student at the Curtin node of ICRAR.

My thesis is titled ‘Real-time Imaging of Black Hole Jets’.