[Skip to Content]

ICRAR’s research students will be the future astronomers, engineers and data scientists working around the globe in a variety of fields.

We have a strong commitment to providing the best research training and an environment in which our talented students will thrive.

Mr Wayne Arcus

Student - PhD

E: wayne.arcus@icrar.org

Thesis Title: TBC

Ms Pikky Atri

Student - PhD

E: pikky.atri@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Thesis Title: Black hole natal kicks: Using space velocities to constrain how black holes form

Mrs Fiona Audcent-Ross

Student - PhD

E: fiona.audcent-ross@icrar.org

P: 0404 069 997

Thesis Title: Star Formation demographics in HI selected galaxies

Mr Rene Baelemans

Student - PhD

E: rene.baelemans@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Thesis Title: Co-Design of wideband polarization-agile phased-array antennas and low-noise amplifiers for the next generation low-frequency square kilometre array (SKA) radio telescope

Ms Lucie Bakels

Student - PhD

E: lucie.bakels@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7839

Mr James Buchan

Student - PhD

E: james.buchan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: Photovoltaic-Battery Power Systems for the Square Kilometre Array Radio Telescope Considering Electromagnetic Compatibility Characterisation

Mr Ryan Bunney

Student - PhD

E: ryan.bunney@icrar.org

2018 Westpac Future Leaders Scholar

Mr Rodrigo Canas

Student - PhD

E: rodrigo.canas@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7784

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Elliott Charlton

Student - Masters

E: elliott.charlton@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Ms Garima Chauhan

Student - PhD

E: garima.chauhan@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7775

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Jaiverdhan Chauhan

Student - PhD

E: jaiverdhan.chauhan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Degree/Thesis Title: Using SKA precursors to understand the properties of X-ray binary jets

Mr Qingxiang Chen

Student - PhD

E: qingxiang.chen@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7845

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Robin Cook

Student - PhD

E: robin.cook@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3819

I am a Belgian-born, Australian-bred PhD student with a passion for all things science and astronomy.

I began my career in astronomy at Curtin University where I completed my Bachelors of Science with Honours majoring in Astrophysics. I then went on to begin my PhD in Astrophysics at the University of Western Australia where I am studying cold gas reservoirs in galaxies under the supervision of Dr Barbara Catinella, Dr Luca Cortese and Dr Aaron Robotham.

Alongside my research, I am also very passionate about science outreach and education. In the past year, I have been on many trips to schools all around Western Australia to bring the excitement of astronomy to kids both near are far. I also produce media content for relevant and exciting events that are occurring in astronomy for the public. For instance, the recent rare occurrence of the Super Blue Blood Moon.

Super Blue Blood Moon 2018 from ICRAR on Vimeo.

Mr Stefan Duchesne

Student - PhD

E: stefan.duchesne@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 7017

Mr Geoff Duniam

Student - PhD

E: geoff.duniam@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7742

Thesis Title: Machine Learning and Big Data in Radio Astronomy

Mr Ahmed Elagali

Student - PhD

E: ahmed.elagali@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3241

Thesis Title: Studies of Interacting Galaxies & the Environmental Effects on Their Evolution.

Miss Kate Harborne

Student - PhD

E: katherine.harborne@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1793

A third year PhD student in computational astrophysics under the supervision of Chris Power and Aaron Robotham at the UWA node of ICRAR.

Mr Hosein Hashemizadeh

Student - PhD

E: hosein.hashemi@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1127

Thesis Title: Bulge disk decomposition in the COSMOS/DEVILS data under supervision of Professor Simon Driver, Dr. Aaron Robotham and Dr. Luke Davies.

Mr Brendan Hennessy

Student - PhD

E: brendan.hennessy@icrar.org

Degree/Thesis Title: Surveillance of Space with Passive Radar using the Murchison Widefield Array

Mr Torrance Hodgson

Student - PhD

E: torrance.hodgson@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 7017

Mr Wenkai Hu

Visiting Student - PhD

E: wenkai.hu@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4583

Thesis Title:

Mr Ronniy Joseph

Student - PhD

E: ronniy.joseph@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

is in the final year of his PhD working with A/Prof. Dr. Cath Trott and A/Prof. Dr. Randall Wayth at ICRAR on calibration methods of heterogeneous radio interferometry arrays to enhance the Epoch of Reionisation detection capabilities of next generation radio telescopes.

Thesis title: Probing the Epoch of Reionization with non-traditional hybrid arrays.

Ms Dilpreet Kaur

Student - PhD

E: dilpreet.kaur@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Mr Soheil Koushan

Student - PhD

E: soheil.koushan@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4537

Thesis Title: Measuring the Extra-galactic Background Light and constructing the WAVES input catalogue

Mr Mike Kriele

Student - PhD

E: michael.kriele@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

Degree/Thesis Title: High Precision Mapping of the Diffused Low Frequency Sky

Mr Lincheng Li

Student - PhD

E: lincheng.li@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7756

Thesis Title:

Mr Boyang Liu

Student - PhD

E: boyang.liu@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1222

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Xuanyi Lyu

Student - Masters

E: xuanyi.lyu@icrar.org

P: 0435 900 276

Mr Aditya Manuwal

Student - PhD

E: aditya.manuwal@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7746

I am working under the supervision of Dr. Aaron Ludlow, Dr. Aaron Robotham, Dr. Chris Power and Dr. Simon Driver on studies aimed at relationship between dynamical state of dark matter halos and properties of galaxies hosted by them. Galaxies are assumed to be in equilibrium with the cluster potential when halo masses are determined from observed kinematics. But this assumption isn’t always valid, especially for satellite galaxies which undergo various interactions amongst themselves and with the halo. This discrepancy between kinematics of galaxies and dark matter is quantified as the ‘velocity bias’ and we wish to understand its origin. These project involve data from the EAGLE and the EAGLE-XL suite of hydrodynamical simulations.

Mr Sam McSweeney

Student - PhD

E: sam.mcsweeney@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: Three-dimensional tomography of pulsar magnetospheres

Ms Bella Nasirudin

Student - PhD

E: bella.nasirudin@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

Mr Bach Nguyen

Student - PhD

E: bach.nguyen@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Thesis Title:

Ms Omima Osman

Student - PhD

E: omima.osman@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7753

Thesis Title: Dust formation and evolution, and its influence on galaxy evolution

Mr Rhys Poulton

Student - PhD

E: rhys.poulton@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7752

Mr Steve Raj Prabu

Student - Masters

E: steveraj.prabu@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Degree/Thesis Title: Using MWA as a receiver for a passive radar system aimed at detecting and characterising space debris

Mr Nicholas Pritchard

Student - Masters

E: nicholas.pritchard@icrar.org

P: 0437417335

Master’s student under the supervision of Andreas Wicenec studying scientific reproducibility in data processing.

Miss Thea Pulbrook

Student - Masters

E: thea.pulbrook@icrar.org

Masters of Professional Engineering student working on the timing system for the Square Kilometre Array.

Mr Fei Qin

Student - PhD

E: fei.qin@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1370

Bulk Flow

Mr Benjamin Quici

Student - PhD

E: benjamin.quici@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Degree/Thesis Title: Constraining the dying phase of Radio galaxies with the GLEAM-X radio survey.

Mr Tristan Reynolds

Student - PhD

E: tristan.reynolds@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7751

Thesis Title:

Ms Kathryn Ross

Student - PhD

E: Kathryn.ross@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Degree/Thesis Title: Spectral Studies of Radio Galaxies using GLEAM-X

Mr Keegan Smith

Student - Masters

E: keegan.smith@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Thesis Title: Understanding Pulsar Emission Through a Large Scale Database

Mr Nick Swainston

Student - PhD

E: Nicholas.swainston@icrar.org

Degree/Thesis Title: Finding pulsars with a next-generation low-frequency radio telescope

Mr Tian Jun

Student - PhD

E: jun.tian@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Degree/Thesis Title: Studying radio properties of short gamma-ray bursts with the Murchison Widefield Array

Mr Adam Watts

Student - PhD

E: adam.watts@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7754

Mr Alexander Williamson

Student - PhD

E: alexander.williamson@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Degree/Thesis Title: Detecting Cosmic Rays with the Murchison Widefield Array

Ms Ruby Wright

Student - PhD

E: ruby.wright@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3241

BPhil(Hons) (UWA, 2018)

Mr Hongwei Xi

Visiting Student - PhD

E: hongwei.xi@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7880

Ms Mengyao Xue

Student - PhD

E: mengyao.xue@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

I started my PhD study at ICRAR-Curtin from 2015 working on pulsar astronomy using the MWA.
I worked on interstellar extinction and the property of interstellar dust using WISE and Spitzer archival catalog when I did my master (2012-2015) at Beijing Normal University.

PhD Thesis Title: Southern Pulsar Census and Polarimetric Studies with the MWA

Mr QingZeng Yan

Student - PhD

E: qingzeng.yan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: 3-Dimensional Structure of Molecular Clouds in the Central Molecular Zone

Mr Songbo Zhang

Visiting Student - PhD

E: songbo.zhang@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7775