[Skip to Content]

ICRAR’s research students will be the future astronomers, engineers and data scientists working around the globe in a variety of fields.

We have a strong commitment to providing the best research training and an environment in which our talented students will thrive.

Mr Kamran Ali

Student - PhD

E: kamran.ali@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4583

Thesis Title: Large-scale Structure of Universe

Mr Wayne Arcus

Student - PhD

E: wayne.arcus@icrar.org

Thesis Title: TBC

Ms Pikky Atri

Student - PhD

E: pikky.atri@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Thesis Title: Black hole natal kicks: Using space velocities to constrain how black holes form

Mrs Fiona Audcent-Ross

Student - PhD

E: fiona.audcent-ross@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1117

Thesis Title: Star Formation demographics in HI selected galaxies

Mr Rene Baelemans

Student - PhD

E: rene.baelemans@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Thesis Title: Co-Design of wideband polarization-agile phased-array antennas and low-noise amplifiers for the next generation low-frequency square kilometre array (SKA) radio telescope

Ms Lucie Bakels

Student - PhD

E: lucie.bakels@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7839

Mr Julian Bocking

Student - Masters

E: julian.bocking@icrar.org

Thesis Title:

Mr James Buchan

Student - PhD

E: james.buchan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: Photovoltaic-Battery Power Systems for the Square Kilometre Array Radio Telescope Considering Electromagnetic Compatibility Characterisation

Mr Ryan Bunney

Student - PhD

E: ryan.bunney@icrar.org

2018 Westpac Future Leaders Scholar

Mr Andrew Butler

Student - PhD

E: andrew.butler@icrar.org

Thesis Title: Measuring AGN Feedback: Black Hole Kinetic Luminosity Outputs in the HERG and LERG Paradigm

Mr Rodrigo Canas

Student - PhD

E: rodrigo.canas@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7784

Thesis Title: TBC

Ms Garima Chauhan

Student - PhD

E: garima.chauhan@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7775

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Jaiverdhan Chauhan

Student - PhD

E: jaiverdhan.chauhan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Degree/Thesis Title: Using SKA precursors to understand the properties of X-ray binary jets

Mr Qingxiang Chen

Student - PhD

E: qingxiang.chen@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7845

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Robin Cook

Student - PhD

E: robin.cook@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3819

I am a Belgian-born, Australian-bred PhD student with a passion for all things science and astronomy.

I began my career in astronomy at Curtin University where I completed my Bachelors of Science with Honours majoring in Astrophysics. I then went on to begin my PhD in Astrophysics at the University of Western Australia where I am studying cold gas reservoirs in galaxies under the supervision of Dr Barbara Catinella, Dr Luca Cortese and Dr Aaron Robotham.

Alongside my research, I am also very passionate about science outreach and education. In the past year, I have been on many trips to schools all around Western Australia to bring the excitement of astronomy to kids both near are far. I also produce media content for relevant and exciting events that are occurring in astronomy for the public. For instance, the recent rare occurrence of the Super Blue Blood Moon.

Super Blue Blood Moon 2018 from ICRAR on Vimeo.

Mr Geoff Duniam

Student - PhD

E: geoff.duniam@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7742

Thesis Title: Machine Learning and Big Data in Radio Astronomy

Mr Ahmed Elagali

Student - PhD

E: ahmed.elagali@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3241

Thesis Title: Studies of Interacting Galaxies & the Environmental Effects on Their Evolution.

Mr Charles Gravestock

Student - Masters

E: charles.gravestock@icrar.org

Thesis Title:

Miss Kate Harborne

Student - PhD

E: katherine.harborne@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1793

Beginning a PhD in computational astrophysics under the supervision of Chris Power and Aaron Robotham at the UWA node of ICRAR.

Mr Hosein Hashemizadeh

Student - PhD

E: hosein.hashemi@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1127

Thesis Title: Bulge disk decomposition in G10/COSMOS data under supervision of Professor Simon Driver and Dr. Aaron Robotham.

Mr Brendan Hennessy

Student - PhD

E: brendan.hennessy@icrar.org

Degree/Thesis Title: Surveillance of Space with Passive Radar and the Murchison Widefield Array

Mr Wenkai Hu

Visiting Student - PhD

E: wenkai.hu@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4583

Thesis Title:

Mr Ronniy Joseph

Student - PhD

E: ronniy.joseph@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

is in the final year of his PhD working with A/Prof. Dr. Cath Trott and A/Prof. Dr. Randall Wayth at ICRAR on calibration methods of heterogeneous radio interferometry arrays to enhance the Epoch of Reionisation detection capabilities of next generation radio telescopes.

Thesis title: Probing the Epoch of Reionization with non-traditional hybrid arrays.

Ms Dilpreet Kaur

Student - PhD

E: dilpreet.kaur@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Miss Katharine Kelley

Student - PhD

E: katharine.kelley@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7880

Thesis Title: A Radio Astronomy search for Axion Cold Dark Matter

Mr Soheil Koushan

Student - PhD

E: soheil.koushan@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4537

Thesis Title: Measuring the Extra-galactic Background Light and constructing the WAVES input catalogue

Mr Mike Kriele

Student - PhD

E: michael.kriele@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

Degree/Thesis Title: High Precision Mapping of the Diffused Low Frequency Sky

Mr Lincheng Li

Student - PhD

E: lincheng.li@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7756

Thesis Title:

Mr Boyang Liu

Student - PhD

E: boyang.liu@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1222

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Xuanyi Lyu

Student - Masters

E: xuanyi.lyu@icrar.org

P: 0435 900 276

Mr JT Malarecki

Student - PhD

E: jurektadek.malarecki@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1780

Thesis Title: Data Organisation and Data Interrogation in the SKA

Mr Sam McSweeney

Student - PhD

E: sam.mcsweeney@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: Three-dimensional tomography of pulsar magnetospheres

Mr Bradley Meyers

Student - PhD

E: bradley.meyers@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

I’m a PhD student working with Dr Steven Tremblay, Dr Ramesh Bhat, Dr Ryan Shannon and Dr Stephen Ord. I work with the Murchison Widefield Array to study pulsars at low frequencies in the context of trying to understand their emission properties and how different classes of pulsar are linked.

Thesis Title: Investigating the links between radio pulsar populations that display intermittent emission phenomena at low frequencies

Ms Seema Morab

Student - PhD

E: seema.morab@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Mr Bach Nguyen

Student - PhD

E: bach.nguyen@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Thesis Title:

Ms Omima Osman

Student - PhD

E: omima.osman@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7753

Mr Rhys Poulton

Student - PhD

E: rhys.poulton@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7752

Mr Steve Raj Prabu

Student - Masters

E: steveraj.prabu@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Degree/Thesis Title: Using MWA as a receiver for a passive radar system aimed at detecting and characterising space debris

Ms Hai-Hua Qiao

Student - PhD

E: haihua.qiao@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: Accurate OH maser positions from SPLASH: Understanding the origins of OH masers with an unbiased survey

Mr Fei Qin

Student - PhD

E: fei.qin@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1370

Bulk Flow

Mr Tristan Reynolds

Student - PhD

E: tristan.reynolds@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7751

Thesis Title:

Mr Manan Shah

Student - Masters

E: manan.shah@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7745

Mr Lucas Storer

Student - Masters

E: lucas.storer@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3295

Mr Hongquan Su

Student - PhD

E: hongquan.su@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

Thesis Title: Mapping the Galaxy in 3D using observations of HII region absorption with the MWA

Mr Nick Swainston

Student - PhD

E: Nicholas.swainston@icrar.org

Degree/Thesis Title: Finding pulsars with a next-generation low-frequency radio telescope

Ms Jessica Thorne

Student - Masters

E: Jessica.thorne@icrar.org

Dissertation Title: Extracting Active Galactic Nuclei Parameters from Galaxy Spectral Energy Distributions

Mrs Chenoa Tremblay

Student - PhD

E: chenoa.tremblay@icrar.org

Thesis Title: The First Spectral Line Survey of Orion and the Galactic Centre at 100-300 MHz

I graduated with a Bachelors degree in Chemistry, with minors in Mathematics and Sociology, from Plymouth State University located in the United States. Since then, I have spent the last 20 years working as an analytical chemist in corporate research and development in the fields of pharmaceutical science, environmental catalysts, automotive catalysts, printable inks and, most recently, the mining industry. I have always had a keen interest in astrochemistry and in 2006 I started working towards a degree in Physics and Astronomy by attending graduate and undergraduate courses in physics at the University of New Mexico. In 2011 I moved with my husband and daughter to Western Australia and am now a PhD student at Curtin University.

Mr Vlad Tudor

Student - PhD

E: vlad.tudor@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Thesis Title: Characteristics, Prevalence and Distribution of Stellar-Mass Black Holes in Globular Clusters

Mr Ryan Urquhart

Student - PhD

E: ryan.urquhart@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Thesis Title: Exploring regimes of super-Eddington accretion in black hole binaries

Mr Adam Watts

Student - PhD

E: adam.watts@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7754

Mr Alexander Williamson

Student - PhD

E: alexander.williamson@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Degree/Thesis Title: Detecting Cosmic Rays with the Murchison Widefield Array

Ms Mengyao Xue

Student - PhD

E: mengyao.xue@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

I started my PhD study at ICRAR-Curtin from 2015 working on pulsar astronomy using the MWA.
I worked on interstellar extinction and the property of interstellar dust using WISE and Spitzer archival catalog when I did my master (2012-2015) at Beijing Normal University.

PhD Thesis Title: Southern Pulsar Census and Polarimetric Studies with the MWA

Mr QingZeng Yan

Student - PhD

E: qingzeng.yan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: 3-Dimensional Structure of Molecular Clouds in the Central Molecular Zone

Mr Songbo Zhang

Visiting Student - PhD

E: songbo.zhang@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7775