[Skip to Content]

ICRAR’s research students will be the future astronomers, engineers and data scientists working around the globe in a variety of fields.

We have a strong commitment to providing the best research training and an environment in which our talented students will thrive.

Mr Wayne Arcus

Student - PhD

E: wayne.arcus@icrar.org

Thesis Title: TBC

Ms Pikky Atri

Student - PhD

E: pikky.atri@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Thesis Title: Black hole natal kicks: Using space velocities to constrain how black holes form

Mr Rene Baelemans

Student - PhD

E: rene.baelemans@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Thesis Title: Co-Design of wideband polarization-agile phased-array antennas and low-noise amplifiers for the next generation low-frequency square kilometre array (SKA) radio telescope

Ms Lucie Bakels

Student - PhD

E: lucie.bakels@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7839

Mr Matías Bravo

Student - PhD

E: matias.bravo@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1780

Mr James Buchan

Student - PhD

E: james.buchan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: Photovoltaic-Battery Power Systems for the Square Kilometre Array Radio Telescope Considering Electromagnetic Compatibility Characterisation

Mr Ryan Bunney

Student - PhD

E: ryan.bunney@icrar.org

2018 Westpac Future Leaders Scholar

Mr Elliott Charlton

Student - Masters

E: elliott.charlton@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Ms Garima Chauhan

Student - PhD

E: garima.chauhan@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7775

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Jaiverdhan Chauhan

Student - PhD

E: jaiverdhan.chauhan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Degree/Thesis Title: Using SKA precursors to understand the properties of X-ray binary jets

Mr Kariuki Chege

Student - PhD

E: kariuki.chege@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Mr Qingxiang Chen

Student - PhD

E: qingxiang.chen@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7845

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Robin Cook

Student - PhD

E: robin.cook@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3819

I am a Belgian-born, Australian-bred PhD student with a passion for all things science and astronomy.

I began my career in astronomy at Curtin University where I completed my Bachelors of Science with Honours majoring in Astrophysics. I then went on to begin my PhD in Astrophysics at the University of Western Australia where I am studying cold gas reservoirs in galaxies under the supervision of Dr Barbara Catinella, Dr Luca Cortese and Dr Aaron Robotham.

Alongside my research, I am also very passionate about science outreach and education. In the past year, I have been on many trips to schools all around Western Australia to bring the excitement of astronomy to kids both near are far. I also produce media content for relevant and exciting events that are occurring in astronomy for the public. For instance, the recent rare occurrence of the Super Blue Blood Moon.

Super Blue Blood Moon 2018 from ICRAR on Vimeo.

Mr Ben Dix-Matthews

Student - PhD

E: ben.dix-matthews@icrar.org

Benjamin Dix-Matthews is a PhD candidate at the University of Western Australia, working on the stabilisation of free-space optical links for metrology, geodesy and communications. Having previously completed a Masters in Electronic Engineering, he has experience in the technical process of designing, prototyping and testing electrical and optical systems.

Mr Stefan Duchesne

Student - PhD

E: stefan.duchesne@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 7017

Mr Geoff Duniam

Student - PhD

E: geoff.duniam@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7742

Thesis Title: Machine Learning and Big Data in Radio Astronomy

Mr Hosein Hashemizadeh

Student - PhD

E: hosein.hashemi@icrar.org

Thesis Title: The Emergence of Bulges and Disks in the Universe: A Deep Investigation Using Hubble Space Telescope

Mr Brendan Hennessy

Student - PhD

E: brendan.hennessy@icrar.org

Degree/Thesis Title: Surveillance of Space with Passive Radar using the Murchison Widefield Array

Mr Torrance Hodgson

Student - PhD

E: torrance.hodgson@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 7017

Mr Esteban Jimenez

Student - PhD

E: esteban.jimenez@icrar.org

P: 0426514822

Ms Dilpreet Kaur

Student - PhD

E: dilpreet.kaur@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Mr Mike Kriele

Student - PhD

E: michael.kriele@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

Degree/Thesis Title: High Precision Mapping of the Diffused Low Frequency Sky

Mr Lincheng Li

Student - PhD

E: lincheng.li@icrar.org

Thesis Title:

Ms Jie Li

Student - PhD

E: jie.li@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3776

Mr Boyang Liu

Student - PhD

E: boyang.liu@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1222

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Xuanyi Lyu

Student - Masters

E: xuanyi.lyu@icrar.org

P: 0435 900 276

Mr Aditya Manuwal

Student - PhD

E: aditya.manuwal@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7756

Hi! In my PhD I am trying to relate the visible to the invisible. To be clear, I am working on studies aimed at exploring whether and how the observable properties of galaxies relate to properties of dark matter halos surrounding them.

Ms Bella Nasirudin

Student - PhD

E: bella.nasirudin@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

Mr Bach Nguyen

Student - PhD

E: bach.nguyen@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Thesis Title:

Ms Omima Osman

Student - PhD

E: omima.osman@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7753

Thesis Title: Dust formation and evolution, and its influence on galaxy evolution

Mr Steve Raj Prabu

Student - Masters

E: steveraj.prabu@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Degree/Thesis Title: Using MWA as a receiver for a passive radar system aimed at detecting and characterising space debris

Mr Nicholas Pritchard

Student - Masters

E: nicholas.pritchard@icrar.org

P: 0437417335

Master’s student under the supervision of Andreas Wicenec studying scientific reproducibility in data processing.

Mr Benjamin Quici

Student - PhD

E: benjamin.quici@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Degree/Thesis Title: Constraining the dying phase of Radio galaxies with the GLEAM-X radio survey.

Ms Kathryn Ross

Student - PhD

E: Kathryn.ross@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Degree/Thesis Title: Spectral Studies of Radio Galaxies using GLEAM-X

Mr Mawson Sammons

Student - PhD

E: mawson.sammons@icrar.org

P: 0488996488

CRAFT – Exploring the lensing of cosmological transients on nanosecond timescales.

Mr Keegan Smith

Student - Masters

E: keegan.smith@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Thesis Title: Understanding Pulsar Emission Through a Large Scale Database

Mr Nick Swainston

Student - PhD

E: Nicholas.swainston@icrar.org

Degree/Thesis Title: Finding pulsars with a next-generation low-frequency radio telescope

Ms Jessica Thorne

Student - PhD

E: Jessica.thorne@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1684

Dissertation Title: Probing the co-evolution of galaxies and their environment over the last 8 billion years

Mr Tian Jun

Student - PhD

E: jun.tian@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Degree/Thesis Title: Studying radio properties of short gamma-ray bursts with the Murchison Widefield Array

Mr Adam Watts

Student - PhD

E: adam.watts@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7754

Mr Matthew Wilkinson

Student - PhD

E: matthew.wilkinson@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1127

I am currently working Claudia Lagos and Aaron Ludlow on galaxy morphology in EAGLE in preparation for EAGLE-XL.

Mr Alexander Williamson

Student - PhD

E: alexander.williamson@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Degree/Thesis Title: Detecting Cosmic Rays with the Murchison Widefield Array

Ms Ruby Wright

Student - PhD

E: ruby.wright@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3241

BPhil(Hons) (UWA, 2018)