[Skip to Content]

ICRAR is governed by a nine member competency-based board established under the Joint Venture Agreement and appointed by the State Government.

Our board is currently chaired by Dr Ken Michael. The previous, and inaugural, chair was Dr Bernard Bowen. We thank Dr Bowen for his service and his instrumental role in the formation and growth of ICRAR since 2009.

Professor Graeme Wright, the Curtin University Nominated Member of our board, retired from our board on July 1st. We’d like to thank Professor Wright for his service to our board since 2012. The new Curtin University member will be announced shortly.

Current Members

Graham McHarrie

Independent member

Appointed June 2010

E: graham.mcharrie@icrar.org

Mr Graham McHarrie has a depth of experience in advising boards and management on financial reporting and audit, compliance requirements, transaction due diligence, risk assessment and corporate governance.

Mr McHarrie chairs ICRAR’s Finance and Audit Committee.

Professor Robyn Owens

Nominated member

Appointed November 2012

E: robyn.owens@icrar.org

Professor Robyn Owens is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at UWA and has responsibility for research policy development and leadership of the University’s research activities, postgraduate education, industry liaison, intellectual property and commercialisation.

Professor Owens led development and research training through her previous role as Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research & Research Training) at UWA. Prior to this, she was Head of the School of Computer Science & Software Engineering at UWA. She is currently a member of the Australian Astronomy Observatory Advisory Council and the board of Astronomy Australia Limited.

Dr Thomas Hatton

Independent member

Appointed June 2014

E: tom.hatton@icrar.org

Dr Tom Hatton is Principal, Thomas Hatton Environmental Consulting. Building on 30 years’ experience in delivering and leading water, energy and environmental sciences at the national scale, he assists clients with high-level advice on translating science into policy, strategic planning, building R&D partnerships and collaborations, performance reviews, and environmental assessment and compliance.

Dr Ken Michael


Appointed January 2015

E: ken.michael@icrar.org

Dr Ken Michael AC was installed as the thirtieth Governor of Western Australia on 18 January 2006, retiring from this position in May 2011.

Dr Michael has made a significant contribution in many areas, including public service, engineering, academia and, in general, to the Western Australian community. He continues his support of the community in his retired capacity. He is currently Chairman of the Australian Defence Force Assistance Trust and Chairman of Broome Future, as well as being involved in other community based activities.

Dr David Williams

Nominated member

Appointed July 2015

E: david.williams@icrar.org

Dr David Williams is a member of the CSIRO Executive Team and is CSIRO’s Executive Director for National Facilities and Collections – a role that sees him lead CSIRO’s work in astronomy and deep space tracking, computing and supercomputing, research ships, the Animal Health research Laboratory , and the major biological collections. He is also a Board member of Australian Academic Research Network.

Fiona Roche

Nominated Member

Appointed September 2015

E: fiona.roche@icrar.org

Fiona Roche, a well-respected and experienced public sector executive, has been appointed permanently to the Executive Director of the Office of Science role.

Fiona’s recent background has involved a focus on governance, integrity and diversity, and she is very much looking forward to working in the science portfolio. Her most recent role has been working with the Public Sector Commissioner, Mal Wauchope, as one of his Deputy Commissioners.

Erica Smyth

Independent Member

Appointed July 2016

E: erica.smyth@icrar.org

Erica Smyth has 40 years experience in the mineral and petroleum industries initially as a geologist and later in government approvals, corporate affairs and community interactions. She has worked in the iron ore, gold, diamonds, mineral sands, oil & gas and uranium sectors and is often invited to speak on our future energy options.

She is now a full time company director – including Chairman Diabetes Research WA; Deputy Chairman Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation and non-executive director roles at Emeco Holdings Ltd, Deep Exploration Technologies CRC, the National Energy Resources Australia Growth Centre and the Royal Flying Doctor Service Western Operations.

Erica is also co-founder and Chairman of networking group Mega Data Cluster WA.

In 2008 Erica was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Letters by UWA, in 2010 she was the recipient of the inaugural Life Time Achievement Award in the Chamber of Minerals and Energy Women in Resources awards and in 2016 she was inducted into the WA Women’s Hall of Fame

Professor Chris Moran

Nominated member

Appointed August 2016

E: chris.moran@icrar.org

Professor Chris Moran joined Curtin University on 1st August 2016 as the Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Research. From 2007 to 2016 Professor Moran was Professor and Director, Sustainable Minerals Institute, The University of Queensland. The Institute comprises seven discipline-based research centres and is one of the largest entities of its kind in the world.

Professor Moran’s previous roles include Founding Director, Centre for Coal Seam Gas (UQ) and Founding Director, Centre for Water in the Minerals Industry (UQ). Across a 16 year career with CSIRO, he held a range of leadership roles, including heading the team that developed the Water for a Healthy Country Flagship Program.

Professor Moran has been a Board Member of five Cooperative Research Centres. In the international domain, he was Director of the International Mining for Development Centre (IM4DC), and established an International Centre of Excellence for the mining industry located in Chile.

He holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences (with Honours) and a PhD from the University of Sydney and has a strong international and national reputation for his research and expertise in soil science (digital image processing), natural resources (spatial modelling and statistics) and water management. Professor Moran has published widely in scientific literature and the broader media.

Professor Virginia Kilborn

Independent member

Appointed August 2018

E: virginia.kilborn@icrar.org

Professor Virginia Kilborn is a radio astronomer with the Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing at Swinburne University. Her primary research interests include tracing galaxy evolution by studying the neutral hydrogen gas in galaxies, and she is now working towards preparations for surveys with the next generation radio telescopes, such as the Australian SKA Pathfinder (ASKAP) and the SKA. Professor Kilborn is involved in the WALLABY ASKAP hydrogen survey, and is also chair of one of the survey’s scientific working groups.

Former Members

  • Professor Brian Boyle, independent member, February 2009 - August 2012
  • Dr Vanessa Guthrie, independent member, February 2011 - March 2013
  • Professor Alistar Robertson, nominated member, February 2009 - November 2012
  • Mr Phillip Jenkins, nominated member, February 2009 - 2014
  • Professor Lyn Beazley, independent member, February 2009 - 2014
  • Dr Kerry Sanderson, independent member, July 2013 - October 2014
  • Ms Michelle Reynolds, nominated member, June - December 2014
  • Professor Tom Spurling, nominated member, February 2009 - June 2015
  • Ms Jennifer McGrath, nominated member, December 2014 - August 2015
  • Professor Graeme Wright, nominated member, May 2012 - July 2016
  • Dr Bernard Bowen, chair, February 2009 - July 2016
  • Professor Ron Ekers, independent member, November 2012 - June 2018