[Skip to Content]

The commitment and talent of ICRAR’s astronomers, engineers and computer scientists has led to our rapid rise to a top 5 university-based radio astronomy research centres in the world. We currently host a diverse group of more than 100 staff, from leading scientists and engineers from around the world to PhD candidates and undergraduate students. The full cohort of ICRAR staff, students, and distinguished associates can be found at the links to the left.

Dr Balwinder Singh Arora

Research Associate

E: balwinder.arora@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289


Dr Robert Bassett

Research Associate

E: robert.bassett@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7764

Specialisation: Integral field spectroscopy studies of galaxy evolution.

Ms Janet Berriman

IP Manager

E: janet.berriman@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4727


Mr Toby Brown

Student - PhD

E: toby.brown@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7753

I’ve now moved to McMaster University in Hamilton, Canada!

You can find me at my website

Ms Sarah Bruzzese

Student - PhD

E: sarah.bruzzese@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7752

Thesis Title: Initial mass function of NGC 2915

Mr Ryan Bunney

TheSkyNet Programming Assistant

E: ryan.bunney@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7746


Ms Kirsty Butler

Student - Masters

E: kirsty.butler@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3295

Thesis Title: Angular Momentum of Dwarf Galaxies

Dr Weiguang Cui

Research Associate

E: weiguang.cui@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7767


Ms Brenda Dagnall

Executive Assistant

E: brenda.dagnall@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4756

I will be covering for Yolandie McDade while she is on maternity leave, from the end of June 2016 to May 2017.

Ms Lara DeLacour

IP Manager (On leave until October 2016)

E: lara.delacour@uwa.edu.au

P: 08 6488 4756


Dr Jacinta Delhaize

Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Zagreb

E: jacinta@phy.hr

Jacinta is a PhD graduate from ICRAR-UWA, and is now a Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Zagreb.

Dr Foivos Diakogiannis

Research Associate

E: foivos.diakogiannis@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7629

Specialisation: Theoretical and applied Galactic Dynamics, dwarf galaxies.

Professor Phil Diamond

Director General of the SKA

E: phil.diamond@icrar.org

Dr Phil Diamond holds a Bachelor of Science degree (majors in Physics and Astrophysics) from Leeds University, and a PhD in Radio Astronomy from Manchester University, both in the UK.

Since gaining his PhD he has worked at the Onsala Space Observatory in Sweden, the Max-Planck Institute for Radioastronomy in Bonn, Germany and spent 12 years in various positions within the National Radio Astronomy Observatory in the USA. Prior to becoming Director of the Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics at the University of Manchester, Dr Diamond was the Director of the MERLIN and VLBI National Facility at the Jodrell Bank Observatory.

Dr Diamond spent six months on sabbatical at ICRAR from October 2009, and this interview was conducted during that time. Dr Diamond was then appointed Chief of CSIRO’s Astronomy and Space Sciences Division, commencing June 1st 2010, and in 2012 was appointed the Director General of the SKA Organisation.

Dr Thomas Franzen

Postdoctoral Researcher

E: thomas.franzen@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670


Professor Ken Freeman

Distinguished Associate

E: ken.freeman@icrar.org

Professor Ken Freeman is Duffield Professor of Astronomy at the Australian National University (Research School of Astronomy & Astrophysics, Mount Stromlo Observatory) in Canberra. He studied mathematics at The University of Western Australia and theoretical astrophysics at the University of Cambridge, followed by a postdoctoral year at the University of Texas and a year as a fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge. He returned to Australia in 1967 as a Queen Elizabeth II Fellow at Mt Stromlo Observatory, and has been there ever since.

His research interests are in the formation and dynamics of galaxies and globular clusters, and particularly in the problem of dark matter in galaxies: he was one of the first to point out (in 1970) that spiral galaxies contain a large fraction of dark matter. For his current research, he uses optical and radio telescopes in Australia and the USA, and also observes with the Hubble Space Telescope and large optical telescopes in Spain, Chile, and Hawaii. He has written about 750 research articles, and a book on dark matter, and was named by ISI in 2001 as one of Australia’s most highly cited scientists.

Professor Freeman was the 2009-2010 UWA Institute of Advanced Studies Professor-at-large.

Professor Michael Garrett

E: mike.garrett@icrar.org

LOFAR, space exploration and… Captain Kirk?

Professor Michael Garrett was inspired into astronomy by his competitive nature, and his love of Star Trek’s Captain Kirk.

He brings that inspiration into his work on LOFAR and with the SKA, as well as Director of the Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy, ASTRON.

For Mike, radio astronomy is on the edge of some vast unchartered territory and we’re about to leap right in and maybe discover something that will change our view of, well, everything! He says there’s never been a better time to be involved.

“Let’s amaze future generations with our ambition and vision, with our courage to build something that no man has built before!”

Professor Peter Hall

Director, Engineering

E: peter.hall@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 7951

Professor Peter Hall received his PhD from the University of Tasmania and after academic roles at the University of Sydney, was attached to CSIRO’s Australia Telescope National Facility. His last role at CSIRO was as Leader of the organisation’s (and Australia’s) inaugural SKA program; he was also the author of the initial proposal to site the SKA in Australia. Peter is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers (Australia) and holds the IREE Norman W.V. Hayes medal for original research.

Peter was appointed Professor of Radio Astronomy Engineering at Curtin University of Technology in June 2008 and ICRAR Deputy Director in 2009. His appointment followed a four-year term as the foundation International Project Engineer for the SKA, where he played leading roles in the development of an SKA Reference Design, the initial specification of the SKA, the framing of the international SKA system design project (PrepSKA), and the development of top-level industry engagement policy. Since coming to WA Peter has expanded these interests and applied his expertise to the realization of working SKA precursors and functional verification systems.

Dr George Heald

OCE Science Leader, CASS/Perth Astrophysics Team Leader, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science

E: George.Heald@csiro.au

Dr George Heald is an ICRAR collaborator based at CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science, Perth.

Dr Heald is OCE Science Leader and CASS/Perth Astrophysics Team Leader at CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science.

Mr Benjamin Henderson

Student - Masters

E: benjamin.henderson@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7626

Thesis Title: Search for high-z dropouts in the GAMA mutli-wavelength database

Dr Aidan Hotan

CSIRO ASKAP Project Scientist

E: Aidan.Hotan@csiro.au

Dr Aidan Hotan is the ASKAP Project Scientist (Commissioning) at CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science in Perth, WA.

Dr Hotan is also an ICRAR past staff member, working at our Curtin University node in the early days of ICRAR.

Professor Carole Jackson

Director, Science (Curtin)

E: carole.jackson@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4908

Professor Jackson is an expert in extragalactic radio astronomy and technology research management, gained from working across industry and the research sector through her twenty-five year career. She is Director (science) at ICRAR-Curtin.

Professor Jackson completed her PhD in radio astronomy at Cambridge University after a first career in finance and engineering. Prior to joining Curtin she was the SKA Dish Array Technologies Leader at CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science and has recently shared in the ASKAP team’s award of the CSIRO’s Chairman’s Medal.

Professor Jackson has a long association with the International Square Kilometre Array project (SKA), both in directing technology development and science planning. She has worked closely with WA and Commonwealth Government bodies to derive the business case for Australia’s involvement in the SKA and is currently a member of the strategic Australia-NZ SKA coordination committee and is Chair of the ANZSCC’s Science Advisory Committee.

Dr Franz Kirsten

Research Associate

E: franz.kirsten@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103


Ms Rebecca Lange

Student - PhD

E: rebecca.lange@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7756

Thesis Title: Understanding the physical growth of galaxies and their components over the past 5 billion years.

Mr Hanson Ling

Student - Masters

E: hanson.ling@icrar.org

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Damien Macpherson

Student - PhD

E: damien.macpherson@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7751

Thesis Title: The Prospects and Strategies for Detecting Afterglows of Gamma-Ray Bursts from Population III Stars

Recently submitted, now waiting for the examiners’ reports. Soon I’ll try to upload the GRB afterglow simulation program I created during my thesis to this site, for anyone to use (as long as you reference my 2015 paper in MNRAS). It will be the version that has been tested on ICRAR machines, so it should work on most computers.

Ms Lesley Maddox

Student - Masters

E: lesley.maddox@icrar.org

Thesis Title: Spin of Galaxies

Dr Amanda Moffett

Research Associate

E: amanda.moffett@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3432

Specialisation: galaxy structure and evolution, multi-wavelength observations, and galaxy surveys

Dr Se-Heon Oh

Research Assistant Professor (CAASTRO)

E: se-heon.oh@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7749


Dr Thomas Russell

Research Associate

E: thomas.russell@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289


Dr Franz Schlagenhaufer

Research Engineer

E: franz.schlagenhaufer@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9473


Dr Paul Scott-Taylor

Student - PhD

E: paul.scott-taylor@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1127

Thesis Title: Advanced Computing of Simulated Galaxies in the SKA Era.

Dr Ryan Shannon

Research Fellow

E: ryan.shannon@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9245


Dr Roberto Soria

Senior Research Fellow

E: roberto.soria@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9665


Dr Andrew Walsh

Senior Research Fellow

E: andrew.walsh@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9179


Mr Ruonan (Jason) Wang

Student - PhD

E: jason.wang@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4688

Thesis Title: A data optimised I/O middle ware and API for applications to access heterogenous storage hierarchies in HPC and cloud environments

Mr Angus Wright

Student - PhD

E: angus.wright@icrar.org

Thesis Title: Using Multi-band Photometry and HI Surveys to Constrain the Galactic Baryonic Mass Function

Mr Cameron Yozin-Smith

Student - PhD

E: cameron.yozin-smith@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3819

Thesis Title: Tracing the chemodynamical evolution of our dwarf galaxy neighbours, with CUDA-accelerated numerical methods

Dr Giovanna Zanardo

PhD Candidate (Graduated 2015)

E: giovanna.zanardo@icrar.org

PhD Candidate Giovanna Zanardo used to engineer bridges, now she studies the massive remnants of exploding stars. She applies her knowledge of Earthly structures and how they react to dynamic forces to the study of supernovae, figuring out what’s going on inside something a bit more ‘out of this world!’ Along the way she also gets to check out the inner workings of radio telescopes, and have a front row seat to the development of the SKA.

Dr Bernard Bowen

Inaugural Board Chair

Appointed February 2009

E: bernard.bowen@icrar.org

Dr Bernard Bowen has been the Chair of ICRAR’s Board since its inception in 2009 and has been instrumental in ICRAR’s establishment and continuing development. Dr Bowen was also inducted into the Western Australian Science Hall of Fame in 2011 in recognition of his service to WA science.

Professor Graeme Wright

Nominated member

Appointed May 2012

E: graeme.wright@icrar.org

Professor Graeme Wright is Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research & Development at Curtin University, responsible for all research, research training, and commercialisation and knowledge transfer activities.

Professor Wright has extensive experience on Boards and Committees of research centres and CRCs, liaison with industry and negotiation of funding agreements, and broad research knowledge in spatial information sciences. He is currently a non-executive Director of the CRC for Spatial Information.