[Skip to Content]

ICRAR’s professional staff members provide the technical, outreach, education, communications and administration skills that complement ICRAR’s research programs, from telescope and engineering support through to finance and communications.

Mr Mark Boulton

Senior Systems Engineering/IT Manager

E: mark.boulton@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 6744

Completed my Bachelor of Science at UWA in 1989 majoring in Computer Science and Physics.

Worked in defence industry for 22 years before returning to UWA where i worked initially for Physics and ICRAR then later taking up a full time position with ICRAR as the IT Manager plus Senior Systems Engineer on the Science Data Processor for the Square Kilometre Array.

Mr Andrew Burton

Industry Engagement Manager

E: andrew.burton@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4792

Specialisation:
– Mapping ICRAR’s capabilities to different domains and use cases
– Acting as an interface between technical and commercial worlds
– Managing partnerships between academia and industry
– Deep knowledge of Government incentives schemes for collaborative R&D

Mr Brian Crosse

Instrument Engineer – Signal Chain

E: brian.crosse@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9148

Specialisation:

Ms Jacqueline Da Gama

Finance Manager

E: jacqueline.dagama@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7737

Specialisation:

Mr Markus Dolensky

Technical Leader

E: markus.dolensky@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 5072

Specialisation:
Scientific data processing systems
Data-intensive computing
Technical project management

Mr David Emrich

MWA Instrument Engineer – Site Ops

E: david.emrich@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9672

Specialisation:

Ms Lisa Evans

Project Officer (Citizen Science)

E: lisa.evans@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7772

Mr Sam Foster

Machine Learning Project Officer

E: sam.foster@icrar.org

P: 0404 751 818

Aspiring game developer and graphics programmer. At ICRAR, I’m working on machine learning with the Data Intensive Astronomy team.

Ms Kirsten Gottschalk

Astronomy Ambassador

E: kirsten.gottschalk@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7771

Specialisation: science education, media, web management and design, science communication and writing.

Mr Charles Gravestock

Research Engineer

E: charles.gravestock@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7784

Mr Callan Gray

Software Engineer

E: callan.gray@icrar.org

P: 0424662251

Mr David Kenney

Project Engineer

E: david.kenney@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1906

Specialisation: Radio Astronomy Engineering

Mr Paul Luckas

SPIRIT Program Manager

E: paul.luckas@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 5548

Paul has a Masters degree in Physics, specialising in the design and deployment of highly automated robotic telescopes and their use. He manages the SPIRIT telescope initiative at ICRAR (spirit.icrar.org).

His research includes the spectroscopic observation and analysis of exotic stars, including some of the most massive stars in our galaxy.

Ms Yolandie McDade

Executive Assistant

E: yolandie.mcdade@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1549

Specialisation:

Mx Derwent McElhinney

AusSRC Developer

E: derwent.mcelhinney@icrar.org

Mx McElhinney is a nonbinary software developer with a strong drive for solving challenging engineering problems on the cutting edge of computer science. After doing a BSc in Computer Science and Physics, they spent several years as a software development consultant with a focus on quality software delivery through the disciplined use of industry best practices. It is these practices which Mx McElhinney hopes to employ in the development and optimization of the MWA’s signal processing pipeline as it evolves into one which can scale up to meet the demands of the future upgrades. Mx McElhinney is embedded in the MWA Operations team and funded by the AusSRC project to liaise with scientific and technical stakeholders in developing software solutions focussed primarily on achieving the science goals of the Epoch of Reionisation (EoR) team.

In the long-term, Mx McElhinney will use the insights gained from the MWA development effort to inform the requirements and system architecture of the High-Performance Computing systems for the future Australia SKA Regional Centre.

Mr Andrew McPhail

MWA Fieldwork Coodinator

E: andrew.mcphail@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9175

Mr Dave Minchin

SKA Field Instrumentation Support Engineer

E: dave.minchin@icrar.org

Ms Tracey O'Keefe

Administrative Officer

E: tracey.okeefe@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7763

Specialisation: Administration

Mr Dave Pallot

Software Engineer and Administrator

E: dave.pallot@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 2568

Specialisation:

Ms Clare Peter

Administration Officer (ASTRO 3D)

E: clare.peter@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7759

Specialisation:

Ms Lisa Randell

Administrative Assistant

E: lisa.randell@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1252

Specialisation:

Mr Gregory Rowbotham

Cosmos Consultant

E: gregory.rowbotham@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7769

Gregory has a background in science communication, education and outreach. He has worked as a high school physics teacher in Queensland, worked for CSIRO Education and Outreach throughout the country, and holds a Masters in Science (Astronomy).

He has been the Cosmos Consultant at ICRAR since March 2016.

Ms Cass Rowles

Cosmic Communicator

E: cass.rowles@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7768

Specialised in science communication, education, web management, and social media.

Ms Tina Salisbury

Operations Coordinator

E: tina.salisbury@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4968

Specialisation:

Ms Teresa Slaven-Blair

Outreach Coordinator (ASTRO 3D)

E: teresa.slavenblair@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9896

Teresa has an BSc and honours degree in physics, specialising in astrophysics, from Curtin University. Her honours degree was completed under the supervision of A/Prof Cathryn Trott on simulating and estimating ionospheric parameters above the Murchison Widefield Array.

Teresa’s science communication experience spans over a decade, but her favourite job before this one was working for Scitech, in the Scitech Planetarium. Teresa loved taking audiences for a journey through the observable Universe, and the challenge of never knowing what questions she would be asked or places that would be requested.

Mr Greg Sleap

MWA Data Manager

E: greg.sleap@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3516

Specialisation: Software development

Ms Ali Smith

Administrative Officer

E: ali.smith@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4669

Ms Pru Steinerts

Industry Engagement Manager

E: pru.steinerts@icrar.org

Ms Chamila Thrum

Administrative Officer

E: chamila.thrum@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9899

Mr Rodrigo Tobar

Software Engineer

E: rtobar@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1588

Mr Daniel Ung

Support Engineer, Aperture Array

E: daniel.ung@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9106

Specialisation:

Mrs Melissa Van Dam

Coordinator (SPIRIT)

E: melissa.vandam@icrar.org

P: 0422 314 076

Mr Luke Verduyn

Technical Specialist – Mechanical Design

E: luke.verduyn@icrar.org

Ms Mia Walker

MWA Program Manager

E: mia.walker@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9472

Mr Clinton Ward

Senior Technical Officer

E: clinton.ward@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 8845

Matthew Young

Astronomy & Astrophysics Course Coordinator

E: matthew.young@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7757

Specialisation: Education and Pulsar Astrophysics

Mr Pete Wheeler

Outreach, Education and Communications Manager

Appointed July 2009

E: pete.wheeler@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7758

Specialisation: Communications, Education and Outreach