[Skip to Content]

ICRAR’s research staff form the backbone of our activities in astronomy, engineering and data intensive astronomy.

They work across our many projects in areas as varied as telescope systems design and verification, large scale simulations of the Universe, and the overwhelming computing systems required for the next generation of telescopes and galaxy surveys.

Dr Gemma Anderson

Research Associate

E: gemma.anderson@curtin.edu.au

P: 08 9266 3785

I specialise in the rapid radio follow-up and monitoring of high energy transients. I study a wide range of astronomical transients (explosive or eruptive events) including gamma-ray bursts (GRBs), supernovae, black hole X-ray binaries, tidal disruption events, magnetars and flare stars.

Dr Balwinder Singh Arora

Research Associate

E: balwinder.arora@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

Specialisation:

Professor Kenji Bekki

ARC Future Fellow

E: kenji.bekki@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7730

Specialisation:

Dr Ramesh Bhat

Senior Research Fellow

E: ramesh.bhat@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9176

Specialisation:

Dr Barbara Catinella

Senior Research Fellow

E: barbara.catinella@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7760

Dr Rajan Chhetri

Research Associate (CAASTRO)

E: Rajan.Chhetri@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9249

Specialisation:

Dr Luca Cortese

Senior Research Fellow

E: luca.cortese@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3663

Science Units: Multiwavelength and Spectroscopic Surveys; Gas and Feedback with Radio Surveys.

Expertise: Star formation cycle, interstellar medium and environmental effects in nearby galaxies.

Current and past large surveys: The SAMI Galaxy Survey, The GALEX Arecibo SDSS Survey, The Herschel Reference Survey, The Herschel Virgo Cluster Survey.

PhD, 2005, Universita’ degli Studi di Milano Bicocca (Italy) and Universite de Provence (France).

Dr Luke Davies

WAVES Project Scientist

E: luke.davies@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7750

All about the galaxy life cycle

Dr Davies looks at galaxies of all shapes and sizes to compare those that existed in the early Universe to those that formed more recently.

Luke’s big research question at the moment is ‘do galaxies form more stars when they dramatically smash together?’

Research Specialisation: Galaxy evolution by comparing the stellar, dust and molecular gas components of star-forming systems in the early Universe.

Dr Foivos Diakogiannis

Research Associate

E: foivos.diakogiannis@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7629

Specialisation: Theoretical and applied Galactic Dynamics, dwarf galaxies.

Dr Jonathan Diaz

Research Associate

E: jonathan.diaz@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7764

Dr Richard Dodson

Senior Research Fellow

E: richard.dodson@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7842

Specialisation:

Data Processing for the SKA
Radio Interferometric methods
VLBI

Prof Simon Driver

Winthrop Research Professor

E: simon.driver@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7747

Specialisation: The evolution of mass, energy, and structure over all time.

Dr Guillaume Drouart

Research Associate

E: guillaume.drouart@curtin.edu.au

P: 08 9266 9475

Specialisation:

I am reasearcher at CIRA (Curtin Institute of Radio Astronomy), working on galaxy evolution. More particularly, I focus on the co-evolution active galatic nuclei (AGN) emitting at radio wavelengths in the early Universe. My main interest is to understand how the central supermassive black hole at the center of the AGN formed, evolved and influenced the formation and evolution of the most massive galaxies observed in the local Universe.

I also work on gravitationally amplified galaxies. Thanks to a massive structure (galaxy or galaxy cluster) located on the line of sight of distant galaxies, fainter background galaxies are magnified, both in power and resolution. Thanks to this natural boost, we are able to probe scales otherwise unobservable, even with our most powerful telescopes, and understand the star formation properties in the peak of the activity in the young Universe.

Dr Pascal Elahi

Research Associate

E: pascal.elahi@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3776

Building Synthetic Universes

Dr. Pascal uses simulations of cosmic structure formation as laboratories to test theories of galaxy formation, dark matter, dark energy and gravity.

Pascal uses his virtual laboratories to answer two big questions. How to galaxies, such as our own Milky Way, form and evolve? What makes up the invisible part of our Universe, that is what is dark matter and what is dark energy?

Specialisation: Computational Astrophysics, Galaxy Formation, Cosmology, Code development.

Dr Bi-Qing For

Research Associate

E: biqing.for@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7729

Specialisation:
Multi-wavelength studies of the Magellanic System, HI surveys, stellar chemical abundances.

Dr Thomas Franzen

Postdoctoral Researcher

E: thomas.franzen@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4670

Specialisation:

Dr Paul Hancock

Early Career Research Fellow

E: paul.hancock@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9102

Specialisation:

Dr Cullan Howlett

Research Associate (CAASTRO)

E: cullan.howlett@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 6772

Dr. Cullan Howlett works on modelling and measuring the Large Scale Structure of the Universe; using large galaxy surveys to make 3D maps that enable us to study the properties of gravity, dark matter and dark energy.

Dr Natasha Hurley-Walker

Early Career Research Fellow

E: nhw@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9178

New telescopes, the flat flat desert and supernova remnants.

Dr Natasha Hurley-Walker gets to play with the first data from a brand new telescope, one of the first of its kind.

She’s discovering new things, creating some stunning images, and seeing a part of outback Australia that not many people get to travel to.

Specialisation: MWA Imaging & Calibration

Dr Minh Huynh

Research Associate Professor

E: minh.huynh@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4594

Specialisation: High redshift galaxies and AGN, formation and evolution of galaxies and multiwavelength surveys

Dr Steven Janowiecki

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E: steven.janowiecki@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7543

Specialisation:
Observational studies of galaxy evolution with a particular focus on gas and star-formation in relatively nearby galaxies.

Dr Christopher Jordan

Research Associate

E: christopher.jordan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9142

Specialisation:
– Ionospheric effects detected by the MWA
– Epoch of Reionization
– High mass star formation
– Programming (Python, Ruby, bash…)
– Computing

Dr Budi Juswardy

Research Engineer

E: budi.juswardy@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9224

BUDI JUSWARDY received B.Eng (Electrical Engineering) from National University of Singapore, M.Sc from Nanyang Technological University, and PhD from Edith Cowan Unviersity.

From Jan 2001 to Jun 2002, He was attached to Institue of Microelectronic (A-Star, Singapore), working on SRAM and Delta-sigma modulator. He was an Electrical Engineer with Personal Communication Sector, Motorola Electronics, Singapore, from 2003 to 2006. He was with WA Centre for Microphotonic Systems, Electron Science Research Institute Edith Cowan University, as a Posdoctoral Research Fellow from 2009 -2010, working on LCoS and Optical Communication Circuits.

Currently, he is a Research Engineer with Curtin Institute of Radio Astronomy, Curtin University since 2011, working on Low-frequency Aperture Array Verification System for the Square Kilometer Array project. His research interests include RF Circuits and Systems, Optical Communication, and Renewable Energy Systems.

Dr Prajwal Kafle

Research Associate

E: prajwal.kafle@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7203

Specialisation:

Near field – Far field Connection, Galactic Dynamics, Galactic Archaeology, Galaxy Formation and Evolution, Galaxies in Group Environment, Bayesian Statistics, Python Programming, Big-Data Enthusiast

Dr Anna Kapinska

Research Associate (CAASTRO)

E: anna.kapinska@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7748

Specialisation:
Radio galaxies, AGN feedback, relativistic jets, theoretical models of radio source evolution, radio emission from star-forming galaxies, low frequency radio astronomy

Currently involved in surveys:
Galactic and Extragalactic All-Sky MWA Survey (GLEAM)
ASKAP Evolutionary Map of the Universe (EMU) All-Sky surevy
LOFAR Deep All-Sky Surveys
LOFAR VLBI Calibrator survey (LBCS)

Other projects:
Radio Galaxy Zoo (RGZ) citizen science project

Dr Franz Kirsten

Research Associate

E: franz.kirsten@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9103

Specialisation:

Dr Slava Kitaeff

Research Associate Professor

E: slava.kitaeff@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7744

Dr Claudia Lagos

ARC Early Career Researcher

E: claudia.lagos@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3677

I am Research Assistant at the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research, in the University of Western Australia. I am in this position as an awardee of a Discovery Early Career Researcher. Before, I spent three years as a fellow at the European Southern Observatory. I was awarded my PhD from the Institute for computational cosmology in Durham University, in November 2012. My broad area of research is galaxy formation and evolution.
In 2014 I was recognised with a MERAC prize for the best European PhD Thesis in Theoretical Astrophysics in the years 2012 and 2013. Later in 2014, I was recognised in Chile as one of the `100 Women Leaders’ and one of the `100 Young Leaders’ of the country for my contributions to Astrophysics (see News). In 2016 I was recognised as the distinguished fellow of the year by the Institute of Advanced Studies at UWA.

Dr Jean-Pierre Macquart

Senior Research Fellow

E: jean-pierre.macquart@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9248

Specialisation:

Prof Gerhardt Meurer

Research Winthrop Professor

E: gerhardt.meurer@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7728

Specialisation:

Dr Martin Meyer

Senior Research Fellow

E: martin.meyer@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7590

Specialisations: HI Surveys, Galaxy Formation and Evolution

Dr John Morgan

Super Science Fellow

E: john.morgan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9105

Specialisation:

Dr Steven Murray

Research Associate (CAASTRO)

E: steven.murray@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1285

I am a research associate with the Centre of Excellence for All-Sky Astrophysics (CAASTRO). After finishing my PhD at UWA in 2015, which concerned statistical and computational analyses of dark matter haloes, I moved to Curtin where I am a part of the Epoch of Reionisation (EoR) team, using the MWA to attempt to detect the faint signals of the first stars and galaxies.

My role in this team is primarily statistical. Detection of the EoR is an incredibly ambitious undertaking. Not only is the signal extremely faint, but between it and us is basically every galaxy and star in the Universe. These intervening objects obscure and distort the signal we are trying to detect, and so to unravel their impact requires sophisticated statistical machinery. My job is to provide some of that machinery, so that one day we can hope to extract that all-important signal.

Dr Danail Obreschkow

Research Associate Professor

E: danail.obreschkow@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7388

I am an astrophysicist, active as Associate Professor at the ICRAR node at the University of Western Australia (UWA). After completing my PhD at Oxford in 2009, I acquired two years of work experience as manager in industry and coordinator of microgravity flights with the European Space Agency, before rejoining research in astrophysics at the end of 2011.

I study the evolution of galaxies using a mix of analytical and computational methods, including N-body simulation techniques. My core interests are gas in galaxies, angular momentum, and cosmic large-scale structure. To secure the impact of this research, I maintain a strong links to observers and work in a data-driven way.

Homepage: www.quantumholism.com

Dr Richard Plotkin

Senior Research Fellow - Peter Curran Memorial Fellow

E: richard.plotkin@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3577

My research focuses on accreting black holes, where I use multiwavelength space- and ground-based observations to study acrcretion over the full range of black hole masses (from stellar to supermassive) and accretion rates (from quiescent to super-Eddington). My main research goal is to better understand the structure/geometry of accretion flows (and their outflows) in different accretion regimes, in order to more effectively use radiation as a probe of Galactic and extragalactic black hole populations, and to learn how black holes may impact their large-scale environments.

Dr Attila Popping

CAASTRO Research Fellow

E: attila.popping@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7929

Attila is a radio astronomer working on large neutral hydrogen surveys. These surveys image the gas content of many galaxies in large cosmological volumes. As neutral hydrogen gas is the basic element in the Universe, these surveys play a crucial role in helping to understand the evolution of galaxies.
Because of the large data-volumes of modern radio surveys, Attila is interested in data intensive astronomy and he is working on the development of automated reduction pipelines.

A/Prof Chris Power

Research Professor & ARC Future Fellow

E: chris.power@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7630

I am a computational astrophysicist working on a broad range of problems in galaxy formation and cosmology. My particular interests are in dark matter – what is its nature? what kinds of observations will allow us to discriminate between alternative models? – and in how feedback from stars and black holes (i.e. deposition of energy and momentum into their surroundings) impact the formation and evolution of galaxies. Most of this work requires powerful supercomputers, and so I also have an ongoing interest in scientific high performance computing.

I obtained a BA in Theoretical Physics from Trinity College Dublin in 1999, and a PhD from Durham University in 2003. Between 2004 and 2011, I held postdoc positions in the Swinburne Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing in Melbourne (2004-07) and with the Theoretical Astrophysics Group at the University of Leicester (2008-11). I have been at ICRAR/UWA since 2011, initially as a research assistant professor and, since 2014, as a research associate professor and ARC Future Fellow. Here at ICRAR/UWA, I lead the Computational Theory and Modelling Group, a team of approximately 20 staff, postdocs and students working on a variety of simulation, modelling, and statistical problems in galaxy formation and cosmology.

I am an associate member of the ARC Centre of Excellence for All-Sky Astrophysics (CAASTRO), and am a Chief Investigator for the new ARC CoE CAASTRO3D. I also serve on various committees, including the Astronomical Society of Australia council, the Australia Telescope Time Assignment Committee (TAC), the Astronomy Supercomputer Time Allocation Committee (ASTAC), and the Australian e-Research Advisory Committee (AeRAC).

Dr Jonghwan Rhee

Research Associate (CAASTRO)

E: jonghwan.rhee@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7570

Dr. Rhee’s research interest is galaxy evolution and cosmology using neutral hydrgen (HI) observation. He is now working on HI gas evolution out to z~1.0 using HI spectral stacking and intensity mapping technique.

Dr Maria Rioja

Research Fellow

E: maria.rioja@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7849

Specialisation: Interferometry, Calibration, Astrometry

Dr Aaron Robotham

Senior Research Fellow

E: aaron.robotham@uwa.edu.au

P: 08 6488 5564

I’m predominantly an observational astronomer, mostly working on the GAMA survey (both with redshift data and multi-band imaging). The main science I have been working on recent years has been focused on GAMA groups and close-pairs (which I constructed). I also dabble in simulations and semi-analytics, with a particular interest in mergers and intra-halo light at the moment.

Dr Thomas Russell

Research Associate

E: thomas.russell@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

Specialisation:

Dr Sascha Schediwy

Research Fellow

E: sascha.schediwy@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3430

Specialisation: Astronomy and space instrumentation.

Dr Franz Schlagenhaufer

Research Engineer

E: franz.schlagenhaufer@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9473

Specialisation:

Dr Nick Seymour

Senior Lecturer

E: nick.seymour@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3736

Specialisation: galaxy evolution in deep radio and multi-wavelength surveys. Powerful radio-loud AGN. Doing unusual things with radio telescopes.

Dr Ryan Shannon

Research Fellow

E: ryan.shannon@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9245

Specialisation:

Dr Charlotte Sobey

Research Associate

E: charlotte.sobey@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9110

Specialisation:

Dr Marcin Sokolowski

Postdoctoral Fellow (CAASTRO)

E: marcin.sokolowski@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 2046

Specialisation:

Dr Roberto Soria

Senior Research Fellow

E: roberto.soria@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9665

Specialisation:

Dr Adrian Sutinjo

Senior Lecturer

E: adrian.sutinjo@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9177

Specialisation:
Antenna theory and measurement, Radio astronomy instrumentation, Electromagnetic theory and computation, Radio frequency circuits

Dr Dan Taranu

Research Associate (CAASTRO)

E: dan.taranu@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 5098

Specialisation: Galaxy formation & evolution, galaxy dynamics; numerical modeling and N-body simulations.

Dr Steven Tremblay

Postdoctoral Fellow (CAASTRO)

E: steven.tremblay@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9172

Specialisation:

Dr Cathryn Trott

Senior Research Fellow and ARC DECRA Fellow

E: cathryn.trott@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1306

Specialisation: signal processing theory, Epoch of Reionisation, radio astronomy instrument design considerations, radio transients

Mr Kevin Vinsen

Research Associate Professor

E: kevin.vinsen@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7743

Specialisation:

Dr Andrew Walsh

Senior Research Fellow

E: andrew.walsh@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9179

Specialisation:

Dr Liang Wang

Research Associate

E: liang.wang@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7781

Dr Randall Wayth

Senior Research Fellow

E: randall.wayth@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9247

Specialisation:

Dr Charlotte Welker

Jim Buckee Fellow

E: charlotte.welker@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7795

I graduated from my PhD at Institut dAstrophysique de Paris, in France in September 2015, and joined the ICRAR team as a Jim Buckee Fellow in November the same year.

Dr Sarah White

Research Associate

E: sarah.white@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9245

Specialisation: AGN, extragalactic radio astronomy, and multi-wavelength surveys

Dr Andrew Williams

MWA Monitor and Control Engineer

E: andrew.williams@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9474

Worked at Perth Observatory from 1996-2013 – automated the 61cm telescope there, built a CCD camera, and helped set up an automated supernova search. Worked with the PLANET and MiNDSTEp gravitational microlensing groups hunting for extrasolar planets. Started working on Monitor and Control software for the Murchison Widefield Array in 2008, and moved to Curtin in 2013.

Dr O. Ivy Wong

ICRAR research fellow

E: ivy.wong@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7761

Research specialty:
-Physical processes that govern how galaxies form stars, grow supermassive black holes and evolve
-Multiwavelength observational astronomy
-Large radio continuum and atomic Hydrogen (HI) surveys
-Radio Galaxy Zoo (http://radio.galaxyzoo.org)

A/Prof Chen Wu

Research Associate Professor

E: chen.wu@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 6725

Specialisation: