[Skip to Content]

ICRAR’s research students will be the future astronomers, engineers and data scientists working around the globe in a variety of fields.

We have a strong commitment to providing the best research training and an environment in which our talented students will thrive.

Mr Kamran Ali

Student - PhD

E: kamran.ali@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4583

Thesis Title: Large-scale Structure of Universe

Mr Stephen Andrews

Student - PhD

E: stephen.andrews@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7754

Thesis Title: Measuring and Modelling the Extragalactic Background Light using the GAMA survey

Mr Wayne Arcus

Student - PhD

E: wayne.arcus@icrar.org

Thesis Title: TBC

Mrs Fiona Audcent-Ross

Student - PhD

E: fiona.audcent-ross@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1117

Thesis Title: Star Formation demographics in HI selected galaxies

Ms Lucie Bakels

Student - PhD

E: lucie.bakels@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7839

Mr James Buchan

Student - PhD

E: james.buchan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: Photovoltaic-Battery Power Systems for the Square Kilometre Array Radio Telescope Considering Electromagnetic Compatibility Characterisation

Mr Andrew Butler

Student - PhD

E: andrew.butler@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7839

Thesis Title: Measuring AGN Feedback: Black Hole Kinetic Luminosity Outputs in the HERG and LERG Paradigm

Mr Rodrigo Canas

Student - PhD

E: rodrigo.canas@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7784

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Qingxiang Chen

Student - PhD

E: qingxiang.chen@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7845

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr Robin Cook

PhD Candidate

E: robin.cook@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3819

Thesis Title: The Connection Between Structure and Cold Gas Reservoirs in Galaxies

Mr Geoff Duniam

Student - Masters

E: geoff.duniam@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7742

Thesis Title: Big Data Architecture in Radio Astronomy: The SkyNet and SKA

Mr Ahmed Elagali

Student - PhD

E: ahmed.elagali@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3241

Thesis Title: Studies of Interacting Galaxies & the Environmental Effects on Their Evolution.

Mr David Gozzard

Student - PhD

E: david.gozzard@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 2480

Thesis Title: Stabilised transfer of time and frequency for space science applications

Miss Kate Harborne

Student - PhD

E: katherine.harborne@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1793

Beginning a PhD in computational astrophysics under the supervision of Chris Power and Aaron Robotham at the UWA node of ICRAR.

Mr Hosein Hashemizadeh

PhD Candidate

E: hosein.hashemi@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1127

Thesis Title: Bulge disk decomposition in G10/COSMOS data under supervision of Professor Simon Driver and Dr. Aaron Robotham.

Mr David Herne

Student - PhD

E: dherne@me.com

P: 0429409722

Thesis Title: The Australian Mid-latitude Continental Ionosphere with Respect to Low-frequency Radio Astronomy

Mr Ronniy Joseph

Student - PhD

E: ronniy.joseph@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

I’m in the first year of my PhD working with Dr. Cath Trott and Dr. Randall Wayth at ICRAR on calibration methods and non-traditional array design to enhance the EoR detection capabilities of next generation radio interferometers.

Thesis title: Probing the Epoch of Reionization with non-traditional hybrid arrays.

Miss Katharine Kelley

Student - PhD

E: katharine.kelley@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7880

Thesis Title: A Radio Astronomy search for Axion Cold Dark Matter

Mr Soheil Koushan

Student - PhD

E: soheil.koushan@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 4537

Thesis Title: Cluster finding, the Extra-galactic Background Light and High-redshift galaxies from the WAVES input catalogue

Mr Lincheng Li

Student - PhD

E: lincheng.li@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7756

Thesis Title:

Mr Boyang Liu

Student - PhD

E: boyang.liu@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1222

Thesis Title: TBC

Mr JT Malarecki

Student - PhD

E: jurektadek.malarecki@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1780

Thesis Title: Data Organisation and Data Interrogation in the SKA

Mr Sam McSweeney

Student - PhD

E: sam.mcsweeney@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9896

Thesis Title: Three-dimensional tomography of pulsar magnetospheres

Mr Scott Meyer

Student - PhD

E: scott.meyer@icrar.org

Thesis Title: Investigating the Tully-Fisher relation and galaxy kinematics through neutral Hydrogen spectral line stacking techniques

Mr Bradley Meyers

Student - PhD

E: bradley.meyers@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 9896

I’m a PhD student working with Dr Steven Tremblay, Dr Ramesh Bhat and Dr Ryan Shannon. I work with the Murchison Widefield Array to study pulsars at low frequencies in the context of trying to understand their emission properties and how different classes of pulsar are linked.

Thesis Title: Investigating the links between radio pulsar populations that display intermittent emission phenomena at low frequencies

Mr Bach Nguyen

Student - PhD

E: bach.nguyen@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 1289

Thesis Title:

Mr Henxing Pan

Student - PhD

E: hengxing.pan@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7880

Thesis Title:

Mr Rhys Poulton

Student - PhD

E: rhys.poulton@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7752

Ms Hai-Hua Qiao

Student - PhD

E: haihua.qiao@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: Accurate OH maser positions from SPLASH: Understanding the origins of OH masers with an unbiased survey

Mr Fei Qin

Student - PhD

E: fei.qin@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 1370

Bulk Flow

Mr Manan Shah

Student - Masters

E: manan.shah@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7745

Mr Austin Shen

Student - Masters

E: austin.shen@icrar.org

P: 04 3259 9938

Thesis Title: Earth’s Tidal Energy Resource; from Geophysics to Astrophysics

Mr Lucas Storer

Student - Masters

E: lucas.storer@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 3295

Mr Hongquan Su

Student - PhD

E: hongquan.su@icrar.org

Thesis Title: Mapping the Galaxy in 3D using observations of HII region absorption with the MWA

Mrs Chenoa Tremblay

Student - PhD

E: chenoa.tremblay@icrar.org

Thesis Title: The First Spectral Line Survey of Orion and the Galactic Centre at 100-300 MHz

Mr Vlad Tudor

Student - PhD

E: vlad.tudor@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Thesis Title: Characteristics, Prevalence and Distribution of Stellar-Mass Black Holes in Globular Clusters

Mr Ryan Urquhart

Student - PhD

E: ryan.urquhart@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Thesis Title: Exploring regimes of super-Eddington accretion in black hole binaries

Mr Adam Watts

Student - Masters

E: adam.watts@icrar.org

Thesis Title: Main sequence luminosity function constraints on the IMF from HST observations of nearby galaxies

Ms Mengyao Xue

Student - PhD

E: mengyao.xue@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Thesis Title: Southern Pulsar Census and Polarimetric Studies with the MWA

Mr QingZeng Yan

Student - PhD

E: qingzeng.yan@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 3268

Thesis Title: 3-Dimensional Structure of Molecular Clouds in the Central Molecular Zone

Ms Xiang Zhang

Student - PhD

E: xiang.zhang@icrar.org

P: 08 9266 4505

Thesis Title: Detection of radio emission from fireballs with the MWA

Mr Songbo Zhang

Student - PhD

E: songbo.zhang@icrar.org

P: 08 6488 7775